Florida Staff Compensation Insurance coverage Legal guidelines – Forbes Advisor

Editor’s Note: Forbes Advisor may earn a commission on sales made through affiliate links on this page, but this does not affect the opinions or ratings of our editors.

Corporate insurance made easy

Compare free quotes from top insurers at SimplyBusiness. Get a policy in less than 10 minutes.

Employee Compensation Insurance pays for medical care, ongoing physiotherapy, disability benefits, lost wages and other benefits in the event that an employee is injured or sick in a work-related incident. Each state establishes the employee compensation laws for companies in its state.

Here is a closer look at Florida Workers Comp Insurance.

Who Must Have Florida Workers Comp Insurance?

Most, but not all, Florida companies are required to obtain workers’ compensation insurance in the state of Florida. Here’s who has to have it:

  • Employers with four or more employees, including business owners who are officers or members of a limited liability company (LLC)
  • Construction employers who have one or more employees, including business owners who are company directors or LLC members
  • Agricultural employers with six permanent employees and / or 12 seasonal workers who work more than 30 days in the season, but not more than 45 days in total in the calendar year

Employees can report companies that fail to comply with Florida Employee Compensation Laws. You can also report suspected fraud by calling a toll-free number at 1-800-378-0445.

What Florida Workers Comp Covers

According to Florida Employment Contract Act, accidental injuries and illness arising from the course of employment are both covered.

In Florida, if you are injured from an accident at work or from illness, your employer’s compensation insurance policy may entitle you to medical benefits and some wage replacement benefits.

In Florida, employee compensation for medical services includes:

  • Doctor visits
  • Hospitalization
  • physical therapy
  • Medical tests
  • Prescription drugs

Here is what else can be covered by Florida Workers Comp insurance:

Travel expenses to and from an authorized treatment center or pharmacy are also covered by Florida employee compensation.

Wage replacement benefits are available if your earnings are lower due to an accident at work. The wage replacement is two thirds of your regular weekly wage before the injury.

A full temporary disability pension is granted as a result of an injury or illness that temporarily prevents you from returning to work.

A temporary partial disability benefit is offered if a doctor dismisses you with restrictions to return to work.

Permanent impairment benefits are granted if the injury or illness leads to permanent physical, psychological or functional loss.

Permanent full benefits are granted if you become permanently and completely unable to work as a result of the injury.

Death grants are paid for deaths resulting from work accidents and include the payment of funeral expenses and care allowances.

Employee compensation for loss of earnings begins on the eighth day on which the injured employee is unable to work. In most cases, the wage replacement benefits amount to two thirds of the employee’s regular weekly wage.

Exclusions from employee compensation payments

There are situations that are excluded from employee compensation in Florida. This includes psychological or nervous injuries due to stress, fear, or excitement.

In addition, Florida employee compensation is not paid if the injury is primarily due to the employee being drunk or drugged.

Compensation costs for workers in Florida

The cost of Florida workers’ compensation is based on three main factors: the company’s payroll, the type of work the workers do, and the employer’s claims history.

  • Payroll reflects the size of a company, and the larger the payroll, the higher the total cost of employee compensation.
  • The forms of work in your company also play a role. The riskier the work, the more expensive your workers’ compensation insurance will be.
  • If you’ve made disability claims in the past, you’ll pay a higher price.

According to Cerity, Florida employee insurance costs about 26 cents per $ 100 payroll for employees in low-risk jobs and $ 19.40 per $ 100 payroll for workers in high-risk jobs.

You can reduce the cost of Florida employee compensation awards with discounts:

  • There is a 2% discount for an occupational safety program
  • There is a 5% discount for a drug-free workplace program

Self-insured companies in Florida can also receive these credits. Each of these programs must be renewed every year.

Find professional indemnity insurance in Florida

You can get workers compensation insurance in Florida by contacting a corporate insurance agent.

If you cannot get coverage in the standard employee compensation market, your insurance agent can contact the Florida Workers Compensation Joint Underwriting Association (FWCJUA). Employee compensation rates through the FWCJUA will be higher than the rates in the standard market.

Florida employees don’t have to worry about paying any part of an employee compensation payment. Florida law is very clear on this point: It is the responsibility of the employer to pay the entire workers’ compensation insurance premium.

Largest Workers Comp Insurance Company in Florida

Reporting of occupational injuries

Florida employees are encouraged to report work-related injuries and illness incidents as they occur. Florida law requires workers to report work-related injuries and illness to their employer within 30 days.

Florida employers should report the employee’s illness or accident to their workers’ compensation scheme as soon as possible. Florida law provides employers with seven days to file this report from the time they learn of the illness or injury. Failure to do so could result in an administrative fine of up to $ 2,000 per incident.

Most insurance companies have a toll-free number to report work-related injuries and illnesses. The employer must also fill out an initial accident or illness report form and send it to the insurance company.

As soon as the employer notifies the insurance company of the accident at work or the occupational disease, the insurance company can:

  • Look at the injury or illness
  • Provide an authorized doctor
  • Pay for all authorized and necessary medical treatments related to the illness or injury

Corporate insurance made easy

Compare free quotes from top insurers at SimplyBusiness. Get a policy in less than 10 minutes.

Comments are closed.